230am


It’s 230am and I’m wide awake. It must be the coffee that I took just now. School is busy but things are still pretty exciting. Of course there’s still an ongoing battle with myself not too slack and work my ass off. I’m still adjusting to my new phrase of life but toying with the thought of. despite my busy schedule to make a website to sell some second hand stuff, to practice the guitar and to do a short film. Sometimes I wished that I have more time and resources and wondered how some people managed to squeeze so many things into their life.

I have been cutting down much of my social life to do my school work. There’s no life for people that enrolled into my course. It’s a 8am to 11pm daily battle everyday. Oh ya! I have just attended a friend wedding last weekend. It’s my second one in a short spam of one month. I guess I have reached the age where people around me are starting to settle down. During the wedding, I imagined myself to be in my friend’s shoes (he’s the groom!) and fear struck me. “I’m not ready for all this man.” I thought to myself. Facing the crowd, saying your vow all seem too scary. I’m too young for this. there’s still many things that I want to do! And yes, of course I’m still consider young in this era where people only start to settle down in their 30s. But back in my parent’s time, at the age of 24, you would be married with at least a kid.

Although I have several friends that want to get marriage young, many still prefer to have a stable career first before even thinking about the settling down. I was reading an article and it’s about whether is the marriage system is still relevant in our modern society. In the past, people got marriage because of economic purpose. Maybe I have watched too many accident soap opera and imagine people in the past married to get domestic or financial help. It doesn’t really matter if you love the person, after all, love can be cultivated. In fact in the past, people do not see their partner till the day they got married.

How about In the 21st century? of course, no matter how much we denied, we secretly look for the prefect one. Some even have a list of criteria. I have a couple of friends that do that. Maybe that’s why they are still single. Hahas. I myself even though do not write down a list but subconsciously will imagine how the perfect one will be like. But does that work out? I’m not sure. Should we be pursing the perfect one? Or should we be more open and accepting? After all having a partner is not buying a thing. Maybe if we can open up ourself to see the good side of everyone you might find that there are actually lots of eligible one around.

It’s interesting to see friends that are couple of years younger than me starting to date. I thought to myself that why date when you are so young? You are missing out all the fun and not being a wet blanket, from experience rarely things work out. Maybe I represent a more traditional mindset which is to date and get married and not just for the stake of dating. I know that dating can be fun but on the down side you can be heartbroken too. And trust me, having your heart broken for someone isn’t exactly the most fun thing on earth. It’s hurt more than anything and I won’t want to experience that again. Perhaps sometimes, I’m a pretty close up person. In a way, it’s my self defense mechanism in work.

Having said all these, what I’ve just typed might be rubbish. It’s 3:14am! And I have been working hard since 9am. I have a maths test tomorrow and yes I better get some rest. So see you guys soon. Hopefully I can come out with more things to write and of course my short film.

Leave a Reply

