An interview with myself


I can’t believed that It was almost 5 years since I started out this blog. Never mind about the fact that the blog has never go viral, partially due to my insecurity on how people see me if they truly know who I am. I didn’t dared to publicize the blog fearing that if the number of people visiting my blog grew, I would have to be more carefully about how I wrote it. But the blog certainly grow with me, looking back what I used to thought was matured turned out to be immature. It was pretty amuse sometimes when I looked back what I wrote. Today I decided to re-look into what I wrote 5 years ago. Promise me not to laugh.

Then October 31 2006

Sengchong is the most famous and no 1, 19 years old, 6inch tall, designer in his street.This week sengchong.wordpress caught up with sengchong and finds out what make him ticks.

Who are you?
I am just a guy living in Singapore. I am actually a boring guy.

What do you do?
I am currently doing print and web designs. I love designs.I won’t say I am the best but good designs, art, and illustration just attracts me.

Where did you get your inspiration from?
Hmmm. (thinking for a minute before answering) I will say music, books, magazine, places, web, people, films. Basically from things that will allow me to start imagine things again. Dreaming is the key. Thinking of the impossible makes me feel excited.

So what do you do in your free time?
Movies, starbuck, music, games, books, TV. Basically what a normal teenager will do.

Are you taken?
Nah. I just broke up with my gf of three and a half years not long ago.

Sorry to heard that. Any plans of getting attach soon?
Not really. I am not so desperate. Furthermore I still haven’t really got over her. I think it will be rather unfair for my new gf if I get in so soon. Meanwhile I guess I should really enjoy the freedom of being single and concentrating on becoming the 5th billionaire in Singapore.

Do you make it a point to collect visuals?
Yeah. My room has tons of books, magazines, and post cards.

What equipments do you use?
My pc with 19inc monitor, my lousy camera, pen, pencil and paper.

If given that you have a chance to own anything in the world what will you be getting?
Well, I guess a house with a studio designed by myself. A balcony that sees the entire city. A 51 inch LCD monitor. A powerbook. Tons and tons of magazine and cds. SlR camera. And a sports car.

So What are your plans for next year?
Probably set up my own company doing projects related to designs. Labels, websites, prints, Magazine, etc. Get a car licenses maybe.

If given $1million what will you do?
Probably spend ½ million travelling and the next starting up a business.

Where do you want to go?
Big cities, small towns. Anywhere! Maybe other than tekong.

Current moment June 6 2011

I wrote this when I was at the worse period of my life. I was emotionally unstable and actually felt that the world was the end. I had a break up with my then girlfriend. I was full of pride and refused to let anyone see the venerable side of me thus resulted in me showing the cool side of me. It can be clearly seen from the way I answered those questions. At the time I inspire to be a graphic designer and wanted to set up a company that publish my own magazine. I was very influenced by design magazines and modeled the blog after it. Thus there were interview questions posts like this. In the interview, you can clearly see my innocent dreams and vision, that aspect I can said that I haven’t change and in fact my dreams go wilder and bigger. Why not let me ask myself the same question again and see if I will answer it any different and take a look again 5years from now. That will be interesting!

Sengchong is no longer 19. He’s turning 24 and is no longer as famous as he thinks he is. This week sengchong.wordpress caught up with sengchong and finds out what make him ticks.

Who are you?
My name is seng chong. Some knew me by my English name “David”. It was my baptism name which I gave myself as David was my favorite character in the bible. You can call me both. I’m alright with either. I currently study in Digipen Institute of   Technology majoring in Real time Interactive Simulation.

What do you do?
I still love design just that I don’t do it any more commercially. I took a step back from design after screwing up in freelance project. I didn’t enjoyed the experience of doing commercial design and thought that It would be best to leave it as a hobby. After army, I worked in a animations studio as a producer and decided to go back school after a year.

Where did you get your inspiration from?
People, magazines and movies.

So what do you do in your free time?
I don’t have a lot of free time but if I really have I would spend it on watching movies or meeting up with friends.

Are you taken?
Nope.

Sorry to heard that. Any plans of getting attach soon?
Nope. Seriously no time.

Do you make it a point to collect visuals?
Yup but not as much as before. Whenever I see something nice I will do it if not I won’t specially make the effort to do it.

What equipments do you use?
My dad’s lenovo desktop.

If given that you have a chance to own anything in the world what will you be getting?
A design studio!

So What are your plans for next year?
I will be still in school. I f I have extra time, I will start a couple of freelance projects.

If given $1million what will you do?
Keep it in the bank and live life as if I didn’t have it.

Where do you want to go?
I’m think of going US to work after my studies.

Leave a Reply

