Leadership


I was watching a video about DPP Taiwan Presidential Candidate Tsai Ing Wen a couple of weeks back. It’s is a Harvard forum that discuss about Taiwan: Policy Challenges, choices and leadership in the next decade. Someone in the forum asked her about how she will respond to traditional Taiwanese woman who had a family  and kids to care for to which she has neither. She excellently replied that if she made policies and decisions base on her own feelings she will be a very bad leader. That statement struck me as though a light bulb lighting up in my mind. I cannot make decision base on my own feelings. Someday I felt good, other days I felt bad. That shouldn’t affect my actions or decisions. People that depend on me shouldn’t be affected by how I am feeling. Rather I need to be clear headed and make decisions and policies base on peoples’ needs and situations.

Leave a Reply

